Testimonials

Resource Description & Access RDA Blog

RDA BLOG TESTIMONIALS

Feedback, testimonials, and reviews of RDA Blog received from users all over the world for RDA Blog, its companion Google+ Page Resource Description & Acces (RDA), companion Facebook Page Resource Description and Access - RDA, Google+ Community RDA Cataloging, and other social platforms. Some are summarized below, along with discussion about and links to Resource Description & Access (RDA) Blog:

Please provide us your valuable feedback in the RDA Blog Guest Book to make RDA Blog a better place for information on Resource Description and Access (RDA)


Contents
1RDA Blog Testimonials via E-mail and Guest Book
2RDA Blog Testimonials on Twitter
3RDA Blog Testimonials on Facebook
4RDA Blog Testimonials on LinkedIn
5RDA Blog Testimonials on Pinterest
6RDA Blog Testimonials on Google+
7RDA Blog in Wikipedia
8Articles on RDA Blog
9RDA Blog Citation in Books
10RDA Blog Links & Reference in Websites Blogs Etc.
11Citing RDA Blog

E-MAIL & GUEST BOOK

Amalin Ferguson, NPS Library Program Manager, Resource Information Services Division (RISD), National Information Services Center (NISC), Office of Information Resources (OIR), National Park Service (NPS), Fairfax, CA [January 15, 2013, e-mail] -- Hi Salman, I noticed your title in the About Me section of your RDA blog. By the way, the blog looks like a great resource. I'm adding the link to our short list of professional resources. I discovered the blog via Google Apps Alert Service (I set one up for RDA, FRBR, Dublin Core, vuFind, etc.).

Celeripedean, Blog [November 21, 2012] -- Whether you are for or against RDA, I find that there are a number of resources out there.Resource Description and Access Blog by Salman Haider is one of those new resources. Quite simply, it is a blog about RDA. In other words, it attempts to bring under one roof resources about RDA. For the moment, it links out to the RDA Toolkit, and the schedule of webinars to help you learn about and to use the RDA Toolkit. It also provides links to the LC training materials and external working groups on RDA. If you don’t know where to start, this is as good a place as any. But beware, you won’t find any “content” so to speak. There’s no link to RDA itself. Also, content in RDA land tends to be updating rather quickly; sections are being corrected and/or added….still. Make sure you check the currency of any links and the content. Also sign up for webinars now so that you can understand if these resources listed in this blog are slightly dated or just what you need.

Dillon Wackerman, [Dec 9, 2012, e-mail] -- Hello Salman, Visited your RDA blog today. Great work! I'm sure many students and professionals appreciate the time you've put in.

Listed as reference source in Jackson State Community College Library website. [Viewed on January 13, 2013]



Catalogablog, Blog [December 28, 2012] -- There is a Google+ Community for RDA Cataloging, a place to share ideas. For example, currently there is a template for a corporate body name.

Patrick Keilty, Assistant Professor,  iSchool, University of Toronto, Canada [February 22, 2013, posted on  Guest Book] -- Excellent blog. I am recommending it to my students! 

Prema Desai, Cataloger/Trainer, Milner Library, Illinois State University, United States [April 13, 2013, posted on  Guest Book] -- When we were undergoing RDA training this blog had everything to serve us. Effortless search makes it one of my favorite places to look up for anything and everything related to cataloging. Would love to see how OCLC is adopting RDA and what kind of changes can be expected in future. Keep up the good work!

American Libraries Direct : The e-newsletter of the American Library Association [July 31, 2013] --  RDA structure : Salman Haider writes: “RDA is divided into 10 sections ... ... ...

American Libraries Direct : The e-newsletter of the American Library Association [November 27, 2013] --  Once Again, Why RDA : Salman Haider writes: “Let’s first encounter head-on the questions from those who ask: ‘Why don’t we just amend AACR2 again, like we used to?’  ... ... ...

American Libraries Direct : The e-newsletter of the American Library Association [May 30, 2014] -- RDA: What it is : Salman Haider writes: “Resource Description and Access (RDA) provides instructions on recording the content of records.  ... ... ...

Judy Ann Lee, United States  [September 11, 2013, posted on  Guest Book] -- Great idea! Keep up the good work.

Heather Powers Cataloging and Data Services Solution Manager at TLC (The Library Corporation, United States) [January 2, 2014, e-mail] -- Hi Salman, ... ... I’ve found your blog extremely useful, both as a cataloging professional and as a comprehensive reference for the work I’m doing on an RDA Conversion Service ... ...

Heather Powers, Cataloging and Data Services Solution Manager at TLC (The Library Corporation, United States), [March 11, 2014, posted on Guest Book] -- I have found this blog to be the BEST resource on the internet for all things RDA. There is so much information on RDA it can be exhausting and this is definitely the place to go. Thank you so much, Salman, for bringing it all together!
Elise Wong, Cataloging and Reference Librarian, St. Mary's College of California, California, United States [June 13,  2014, Article on RDA Blog in Technical Services Quarterly] -- Resource Description and Access (RDA) Blog is a blog on Resource Description and Access. In addition to providing description and links to RDA, the blog also attempts to gather links and news on related cataloging rules and standards ... ... The layout of the homepage is simple and easy to navigate. The posts are tagged by categories, including RDA rules and concepts, MARC tags, and LC-PCC policy statements ... ... Additional useful links included on the homepage are feeds from RDA Toolkit blog and an extensive list of reference links for catalogers. The frequency of the posts are steady throughout 2013. Some of the posts are extracts from RDA Toolkit and other trusted cataloging sources; other posts are snapshots of cataloging records intended to provide interpretations on certain cataloging scenarios. The cataloging examples are instructive and the author's assessments are often backed by citation of RDA standards or Library of Congress best practices. The RDA Blog is useful supplementary resource for library catalogers interested to the various aspects of RDA and MARC in greater detail. The content is similar to what we see on AUTOCAT and RDA listservs ... ... The posts of RDA Blog are visual-friendly to browse at leisure... ... ... Users can easily trace the accuracy and reliability of the content by looking up the cited references of the RDA standards and guidelines. "Catalogers Reference Directory"is an impressive index of the essential tools used by catalogers every day.... ... ... The RDA Blog, like the AUTOCAT and RDA listservs, is a valuable resource that keeps catalogers informed about RDA standards and best practices on regular basis ... ...

Prema DesaiCataloger/Trainer, Milner Library, Illinois State University, United States [July 1, 2014, e-mail] -- Congratulations, you are in Technical Services Quarterly! Chha gaye! You deserve it for your hard work. You are putting India on “Cataloging map”. Hope you do something much more BIG, so people start seeing India on this map, as they see other countries.

Dr. Naushad Ali, Associate Professor, Department of Library and Information Science, Aligarh Muslim University [August 5, 2014, e-mail] -- Dear Mr. Salman. Nice description on RDA. Blog also very informative. Keep it up.

Louise M. RatliffSocial Sciences and Map Catalog Librarian, Cataloging and Metadata Department, UCLA Library, University of California, Los Angeles, United States. [July 6, 2015, e-mail for the  RDA Blog post : LC RDA Implementation of Relationship Designators in Bibliographic Records] -- Thank you so much....

Dorota WalkerAssistant Web Archivist, The British Library, London, England [July 15, 2015, e-mail] -- The British Library would like to archive the following website: Resource Description & Access (RDA). Dear Sir. The British Library would like to archive your website in the UK Web Archive. The UK Web Archive was established in 2004 to capture and archive websites from the UK domain, responding to the challenge of a ‘digital black hole’ in the nation’s memory. It contains specially selected websites that represent different aspects of online life in the UK. We work closely with leading UK institutions to collect and permanently preserve the UK web, and our archive can be seen at http://www.webarchive.org.uk/.

Michael Neubert, Supervisory Digital Projects Specialist, Library of Congress, Washington D.C., United States [July 21, 2015, e-mail] -- Dear Mr. Haider, I have received a suggestion that we archive your RDA oriented blog.  At present we don’t have a dedicated collection for library and information science, but we are considering such a collection and your blog would be a good addition to such a collection.  In anticipation of that, we’ll start archiving it. Your blog has a Creative Commons license.  Typically we do not send a permission or notice to site owners of sites that have such a license (or to put it slightly differently, the curator tool I use does not send notices when I indicate that the site has such a license), so while I am now going to initiate an action to have the site archived, this email will be the only notice of that.

Melissa Runkle, Library Professional, Urbana University, Ohio, United States [September 18, 2015, e-mail] -- Hello Salman, I saw the note at the bottom of your blog and wanted to inform you that I have cited a post from your RDA blog in a discussion board for one of my classes. Your post about the Libhub Initiative as I was discussing BIBFRAME and wanted to include some information on the "molly brown papers" example. Here is how I cited you;
Haider, S. (2015, June 10). Resource Description & Access (RDA). Retrieved September 17, 2015.
... ... Otherwise thank you for providing such great information!

Ron KrateFounding Head, International Professors Project, UN Visiting Scholar, Vermont, United States [December 25, 2015, e-mail and LinkedIn] -- Thanks for your many highly useful contributions Salman!

José Antonio CarrilloUniversity of Salamanca, Spain [March 8, 2016, e-mail] -- Dear Salman, My name is José Antonio Carrillo, I am doing a master’s in Translation and Intercultural Mediation at the University of Salamanca (Spain), and am the manager of a translation project conducted within the university. All members of the project group are students, at master’s and undergraduate level. My colleagues and I need to translate contents from different blogs and journals into Spanish to post them on ExperimenTRADO, a website for academic purposes: http://diarium.usal.es/experimentrado/.This website is run by some professors at the University of Salamanca and it concerns topics such as library science, library studies, information science and technology. We have found many interesting articles on your website that would be ideal translation material since they perfectly suit our blog’s points of interest. Let me remind you that our blog is not profit oriented. The initiative has a twofold purpose: to spread library-related articles and to give students the opportunity to translate in a professional work environment. I am, therefore, requesting permission to translate some of the contents of the website you run to include them in the blog ExperimenTRADO. After being translated, we would include the link to the original website and the name of the author. Let me know if you might agree with the terms as described above. I would be very grateful for your permission. If you require any additional information, do not hesitate to contact me. Sincerely, José Antonio Carrillo

Sally C. TsengFormer Librarian, University of California, Irvine United States [March 14, 2016,  e-mail in AUTOCAT] Hello Salman, Thank you very much for sharing these informative links.  Your time and hard work are a real contribution to librarianship!

Harinarayana N.S.Associate Professor of Library and Information Science, University of Mysore, India [May 30, 2016, e-mail] -- Thanks Salman Haider.  It is quite useful.

Susan Powers, Coordinator, Documents on Demand, CMU Libraries, Central Michigan University, Park Library, Michigan, United States [November 17, 2016, e-mail] -- I am interested in learning more about RDA, and really appreciate the work you have done on this blog, but please consider changing the orange background image. It is so hard to read what is in all of the boxes because of the way they move against that background.


TWITTER

FACEBOOK


  • Melissa Martin Powell
     I like the format of "dispelling myths". What people think they are supposed to do and what the rule actually says.

  • Mario Rups I finally took the time to look at this blog. And all I can say is ... wow. This is incredibly useful, especially the "dispelling myths" format. Thank you, Salman!

  • Hammy ARahman Thanks for this post, Salman Haider! It'll be of great assistance in my lecture! 


Mario Rups [April, 2015] -- This blog is proving very useful, thank you! 

Irene Nelson [October 7, 2015, posted as a comment in RDA Cafe - Facebook Group] -- I have used the site many times. Very helpful.

LINKEDIN

Jean Hillyer [September 1, 2013] -- This is great! Thank you for posting this!

Marie Janz, Library & Information Consultant, United States  [January 7, 2013, posted in the Special Libraries Association group] -- Thanks for posting this. I have always wanted to be a cataloger, so am always interested in ways to keep up-to-date with all the changes.

Crystal Hutchinson, Youth Services Assistant at Central Kansas Library Systems, Kansas, United States [July 18, 2014, posted in INALJ group] -- This blog is well organized and easy to follow. The bite-size pieces of information are perfect for librarians interested in learning more about RDA.

Elizabeth Wolf, Technical Metadata Librarian at Copyright Clearance Center, Boston, United States [October 30, 2014, posted in CILIP group] -- This is an awesome resource.

Sri Amudha Sankar, Ph. D. Student, Pondicherry University, India [November 3, 2014, posted in Information Science and LIS group] -- Found it very useful! Thanks for sharing.

David Haynes, Visiting Lecturer at City University, London, England [November 4, 2014, posted in CILIP] -- I'll circulate this to the P/G students - I think it will be a useful resource for them as well as practitioners.

Alexander B.Cataloguing Intern at Royal College of General Practitioners, London, England [November 4, 2014, posted in CILIP] -- There is a lot information resources in this blog, one which is worth exploring in detail.

Nicholas TussingClassification Librarian at Zimmerman Associates, Washington D.C., United States [May 27, 2015, posted in Special Libraries Association group] -- Looks very useful.

Sally Robertson, Serials, Cataloger, Reference Librarian at Nashville State Community College, Nashville, Tennessee, United States [July 4, 2015] -- Your blog is very good.....

Charlotte BrownManager of Technical Services and Systems Librarian + Web portal content and design, Pointe-Claire Public Library, Montreal, Canada [October 7, 2015] -- The RDA blog has been very helpful and informative. My colleagues and I appreciate all the hard work and effort you have invested in maintaining this blog.

Ortélia Almeida, Librarian, SPAUTORES, Lisbon, Portugal [October 10, 2015] -- Very helpful! Please continue!

Martha Rice SandersSenior Consultant at Innovative Interfaces. Rhode Island Area, United States [May 10, 2016] -- I am very very grateful for your posts on RDA. I have learned so much from you. 

PINTEREST

Amy Graham [February 2, 2014] -- Hi Salman, This looks like a great resource.

Mary Beth Weber, M.L.S. Head, Central Technical Services Rutgers University Libraries, NJ [February 3, 2014] -- Salman, What a great idea!

Maria Osuna, Salamanca University, Spain [February 27, 2014] -- Hello Salman. I'm teaching Information and Library Science in undergraduates and postgraduates courses in the Department of Information Science here. This year we have had a specialized course on RDA. Anyway I'm writing to you to say many thanks and congratulations about the blog. Congratulations for your CV is awesome! Ranganathan could proud of you seriously! Well here in Spain we are working to introduce the RDA in the best possible cost, saving budget, of course.

Emily Beasley, Graduate Assistant at University of Nebraska at Omaha, United States [April 3, 2014] -- The official blog of Salman Haider, a cataloger from India. This blog is often updated with all manner of nuances about RDA and how it affects catalogers replacing AACR2.

Lindsay Healey, Iowa, United States [2014] -- The RDA Blog - Salman Haider's RDA Blog brings together resources (links and descriptions), news and developments, and explanations of RDA cataloging standards. Entries are tagged and users can explore by category. Particularly useful is the "RDA Resources" page, which links a variety of web resources on RDA, including training materials.

Michelle [2015] -- Salman Haider, a Cataloging & Metadata Librarian, is a self-described blogger and online social media expert. He writes several blogs about RDA and cataloging and his page has literally dozens of helpful informational links.

Jerri Campbell, United States [2015] -- Salman Haider is a Cataloging & Metadata Librarian in India. His blog focuses on Resource Description & Access. He can be followed through a wide variety of means, such as Facebook, Google+, Twitter, Flipboard and even YouTube.

Elizabeth Bergin [2015] -- Salman posts great visuals which break down elements of RDA in a clear and simple way. He often posts specific comparisons between AARC2 and RDA, and provides multiple links to further RDA resources.

Alyss Rogers, Cataloger, Omaha Public Library, Omaha, Nebraska, United States [2015] -- RDA Cataloger's Reference Directory: This is an alphabetical list of every resource a cataloger could possibly need. I found it on an RDA blog (via Planet Cataloging), so it has the most up to date information, rules, and guidelines.

Robin Walker, Librarian/Archivist, Research and Education Department, International Longshore and Warehouse Union, San Francisco, California, United States [2015] -- Cataloger's Reference Dictionary is hosted on Salman Haider's blog, Resource Description & Access. This resource offers tons of links to information on different topics within cataloging. 

GOOGLE+

Prema DesaiCataloger/Trainer, Milner Library, Illinois State University, United States [October 25, 2013].



Luis Angel Garcia Melero, Madrid, Spain [June 27, 2013] -- [English translation from Spanish] Subscribe to this blog of the RDA. It's great


Denise PakalaAssociate Librarian of Technical Services at Covenant Theological Seminary, Missouri , United States [March 21, 2014]


Poornachandra Panduranga Naik, Librarian, India [March 23, 2014]


Muhammad Muawwad, System Librarian, Egypt [May 30, 2016] -- I appreciate your efforts for RDA diffusion.

WIKIPEIDA

The standard has an associated blogresourcedescriptionandaccess.blogspot.com[12][13] The blog is an attempt to bring together at one place the information, rules, references, news, and links on Resource Description and Access, Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records (FRBR), Functional Requirements for Authority Data (FRAD), FRSADMARC standardsAACR2, Bibliographic Framework Initiative[14] and other items related to current developments and trends in library cataloging practice. RDA blog includes links to RDA training resources.[15]
The blog  has a collection of short posts on best practice LC-PCC guidelines.[16] The blog  became more active after the Library of Congress announced RDA implementation date to be March 31, 2013 and started Long-Range RDA Training Plan.[17][18] By August 2013, it had over 41,000 page views since its creation in August 2011. It has appeared consistently in the first page(s) of the search results of GoogleBing, and Yandex.[19] It is archived at Wayback Machine.[20] There is a Google+ Community for RDA Cataloging having more than 300 members, which discusses the posts of the RDA blog.[21][22] As of August 7, 2013, the blog had a Technorati rank of 72177[23] and according to PRLOG website it had Alexa rank of 27245754.[24]

See this on Wikipedia

RDA BLOG IN TECHNICAL SERVICES QUARTERLY

An article on RDA Blog, published in Technical Services Quarterly, journal on library technical services published by Routledge (Taylor & Francis Online).


Click to Enlarge


Click to Enlarge

RDA BLOG CITATIONS IN BOOKS
  • The RDA Workbook : learning the basics of Resource Description and Access Margaret Mering, editor. California : Libraries Unlimited, 2014. View source>>

LINKS & REFERENCES IN WEBSITES BLOGS ETC.

RDA Blog also made it to the list of useful resources of following:


COPYRIGHT AND CITING RDA BLOG